Text Play – Mr.Blue Sky (ArtGr 276)

This semester in my TA class, I decided to ask the students to create a lyric video together by the song Mr.Blue Sky from Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2. Each student would get a 10 to 15 seconds music clip to design a motion graphics lyric in order to match the beats or construct the meaning of lyrics.

In the first project of 276, I couldn’t tell whether students were interested in Adobe AfterEffects or not because everything started from here was fresh and strange to them. It’s more like you were drawing stars someday before today, and you will be asked to make those stars jump today. However, I believe a group work in progress could be a good beginning to help them get more used to design motion. On another side, having fun with software could have a chance to build confidence with facing obstacles in the future.

For me, Adobe AfterEffects is very open and achievable software to convey static information. Luckily, I had a hard time to learn and use it when I was an undergraduate student so that supported me a number of experiences finding the better way to develop learning and practicing.

I felt excited about the final results that turn into so great as well as the efforts they put in; moreover, we spent sometimes in the class to watch and make comments on. They also seem like having a good time by reviewing others’ works and being inspired, which was exactly what I hope.

Here are what we got, hope you enjoy it.

 

 

Reference resources: Guardians of The Galaxy Vol.2 movie clips.

 

 

Leave a comment